ADAM - Brussels Design Museum

M E N U

THE BAUHAUS #ITSALLDESIGN

With the major exhibition The Bauhaus #itsalldesign the ADAM presents for the first time an exposition of the Vitra Design Museum. It gives a complete overview of design during the Bauhaus period.

The exhibition encompasses a multiplicity of rare, in some cases never-before-seen exhibits from the fields of design, architecture, art, film and photography. At the same
time, it confronts the design of the Bauhaus with current debates and tendencies in design and with the works of contemporary designers, artists and architects. In this way, The Bauhaus #itsalldesign reveals the surprising present-day relevance of a legendary cultural institution. Bauhaus artists and designers featured in the exhibition include Marianne Brandt, Marcel Breuer, Lyonel Feininger, Walter Gropius, Wassily Kandinsky and many
more. Contemporary participants include the works of Olaf Nicolai, Adrian Sauer, Enzo Mari, Lord Norman Foster, Opendesk, Konstantin Grcic, Hella Jongerius, Alberto Meda and Jerszy Seymour.

Curator: Jolanthe Kugler

 

PARTNERS:

 

Vitra Design Museum
The Art and Exhibition Hall of the Federal Republic of Germany ( Bundeskunsthalle)
HUGO BOSS
Mercedes-Benz
Baden- Wüttemberg
IKEA Stiftung

 

 

BAUHAUS

Bauhaus is not only an institution but also an era of modernism. It was here that a momentous search began for the best ways to shape industrial culture using conscious design. Bauhaus is a reaction to the chaotic beginnings of the 20th century. Around 1900, the prevailing opinion was that industrialisation and increasing humanisation would lead to a happy future. In 1914, these dreams came to an abrupt end. The values of the individual, fraternity and humanity were lost in the trenches of the First World War. As a result of this, artists focussed their energies on creating a new world. Ideas such as the welfare state, the League of Nations, pacifism and internationalism provided fertile soil for reform movements to flourish - including the unique experiment that was Bauhaus.
Bauhaus resulted from the amalgamation of the Weimar Saxon-Grand Ducal Art School with the Grand Ducal School of Arts and Crafts. It was proposed that Walter Gropius succeed Henry van der Velde, who had already resigned. On the 25th of January 1916, Gropius submitted a suggestion “for setting up an artistic advice centre for industry, crafts and the manual trades”, including a description “of the type of impact of art on industry and craft”. It was not until three years later, on the 11th of April 1919, that he signed his employment contract. The next day, the renaming of Bauhaus to “State Bauhaus in Weimar” was approved and the manifesto was published. The school was closed in 1925 for political reasons and was reopened in the industrial town of Dessau as a school of design. After it was dissolved in 1932, Mies van der Rohe made one last attempt to continue running the school - this time privately and in Berlin. However, Bauhaus ideas were irreconcilable with Nazi ideology, meaning that Bauhaus had to be closed for good in 1933.

Jolanthe Kugler (1993)

 

© ADAM
© ADAM
© ADAM
© ADAM
© ADAM
© ADAM
© ADAM
© ADAM
© ADAM
© ADAM
© ADAM
© ADAM
© ADAM
© VG Bild-Kunst Bonn, 2015
© VG Bild-Kunst Bonn, 2015
© Weimar, Archiv der Moderne
© VG Bild-Kunst Bonn, 2015

Contribution by Joseph Grima,
Space Caviar

© Naef, photo: Heiko Hillig
© MIRO
© Collection Alexander von
Vegesack, Domaine de Boisbuchet,
www.boisbuchet.org (photographer
unknown)
© Jerszy Seymour Design Workshop
© O. Eltinger
Press Activities
Place de Belgique - Belgiëplein - 1020 Brussels | T +32 2 669 49 29 | Every day from 10am to 6pm [closed tuesdays] | More info

ADAM - Brussels Design Museum

M E N U

THE BAUHAUS #ITSALLDESIGN

Avec The Bauhaus #itsalldesign, le ADAM se réjouit d’accueillir pour la première fois dans ses jeunes murs une exposition du Vitra Design Museum. Cette rétrospective offre un regard complet sur le design au sein du mouvement  Bauhaus. 

L’exposition présente une multitude d’oeuvres, pour la plupart jamais exposées, issues des domaines du design, de l’architecture, de l’art, du film et de la photographie.
Dans le même temps, l’exposition au ADAM établit un parallèle entre le design du Bauhaus et les tendances actuelles du design et des oeuvres de designers, artistes et architectes
contemporains. L’exposition The Bauhaus #itsalldesign révèle ainsi l’étonnante actualité de cette institution culturelle légendaire. Les figures importantes du Bauhaus sont
exposées, notamment Marianne Brandt, Marcel Breuer, Lyonel Feininger, Walter Gropius, Wassily Kandinsky. Parmi les contributeurs contemporains, on retrouve entre autres Olaf Nicolai, Adrian Sauer, Enzo Mari, Lord Norman Foster, Opendesk, Konstantin Grcic, Hella Jongerius, Alberto Meda et Jerszy Seymour.

Commissaire de l'exposition: Jolanthe Kugler

 

PARTNERS:

 

Vitra Design Museum 
The Art and Exhibition Hall of the Federal Republic of Germany ( Bundeskunsthalle)
HUGO BOSS
Mercedes-Benz
Baden- Wüttemberg
IKEA Stiftung
 

 

BAUHAUS

Le Bauhaus n’est pas uniquement une institution, c’est aussi une époque du modernisme. C’est là que commença une recherche capitale des meilleurs moyens de donner corps à la culture industrielle à travers un design intentionnel. Le Bauhaus était une réaction aux débuts chaotiques du XXe siècle. Vers 1900, l’opinion largement répandue était que l’industrialisation et l’humanisation croissante déboucheraient sur un futur heureux. En 1914, ces rêves prirent fin brutalement. Les valeurs d’individualité, de fraternité et d’humanité furent englouties dans les tranchées de la Première Guerre mondiale. Les artistes concentrèrent alors leur énergie sur la création d’un monde nouveau. Des idées telles que l’État-providence, la Société des Nations, le pacifisme et l’internationalisme offrirent un terreau fertile aux mouvements de réforme, y compris à l’expérience unique en son genre qu’était le Bauhaus.
Le Bauhaus était le fruit de la fusion de l’École grand-ducale saxonne des Arts de Weimar et de l’École grand-ducale des Arts et Métiers. Il fut proposé que Walter Gropius succédât à Henry Van de Velde, qui avait déjà démissionné. Le 25 janvier 1916, Walter Gropius soumit une suggestion en vue de la « constitution d’un centre de conseil artistique pour l’industrie, l’artisanat et les métiers manuels », y compris une description « du type d’influence de l’art sur l’industrie et l’artisanat ». Ce n’est que trois ans plus tard, le 11 avril 1919, qu’il signa son contrat de travail. Le lendemain, le nouveau nom de « Staatliches Bauhaus in Weimar » fut approuvé et le manifeste fut publié. L’école fut fermée en 1925 pour des raisons politiques et ré-ouverte dans la ville industrielle de Dessau, sous la forme d’une école de design. Après la dissolution du Bauhaus, en 1932, Mies van der Rohe fit une dernière tentative afin que l’école poursuive ses activités, cette fois sous une forme privée, à Berlin. Toutefois, les idées du Bauhaus étaient inconciliables avec l’idéologie nazie, si bien que le Bauhaus ferma définitivement ses portes en 1933.


Jolanthe Kugler (1993)
© ADAM
© ADAM
© ADAM
© ADAM
© ADAM
© ADAM
© ADAM
© ADAM
© ADAM
© ADAM
© ADAM
© ADAM
© ADAM
© VG Bild-Kunst Bonn, 2015
© VG Bild-Kunst Bonn, 2015
© Weimar, Archiv der Moderne
© VG Bild-Kunst Bonn, 2015

Contribution by Joseph Grima,
Space Caviar

© Naef, photo: Heiko Hillig
© MIRO
© Collection Alexander von
Vegesack, Domaine de Boisbuchet,
www.boisbuchet.org (photographer
unknown)
© Jerszy Seymour Design Workshop
© O. Eltinger
Presse Activités
Place de Belgique - Belgiëplein - 1020 Brussels | T +32 2 669 49 29 | Every day from 10am to 6pm [closed tuesdays] | More info