ADAM - Brussels Design Museum

M E N U
The architectural project

The architectural project

An emblem of the International Style

'An emblem of the International Style'

The ADAM has a surface of 5,000m² in the Trade Mart building in Brussels [Heysel plateau]. A finely crafted structure, created by the  American architect John Portman [born in 1924]. In 1975 it was one of the biggest exhibition halls in the world. This curious, enormous construction does not have a “forceful presence” but in its typology and composition (regarding both layout and façade) it forms a highly unique example of “international style” architecture, a corporate version of brutalism. 
The building has a very strong structure. A system of supporting slabs composed of a network of sections, coupled with pillars spaced 7.5 metres apart, the whole structure is arranged on a square framework and makes a very powerful, omnidirectional ensemble. It forms a 'neutral' grid somewhat reminiscent of the work of radical architects during the 1960s.
 

Architecture & scenography

Architecture & scenography

Lhoas & Lhoas Architectes [Brussels]

The architectural design was conceived and carried out by Lhoas & Lhoas Architectes. To achieve the successful completion of the ADAM project, Lhoas & Lhoas architectes have formed a partnership with museographer Thierry Belenger (specialist in 20th century design) and Alexandra Midal (design theoretician and historian).

The project is built with 10 principles in mind such as: making best use of the existing qualities, outside and inside; organising functions around existing structures; a simple, adaptable and reliable exhibition system; integrating stock into the exhibition; conceptual links between the objects; standard simple materials to let the colourful collection stand out. 

The furnishings in the interior were selected in partnership with VITRA. DELTA LIGHT takes care of the lighting. 

The main exterior staircase

The main exterior staircase

A creation by Jean Nouvel & MDW Architecture.

The Trade Mart has an interesting façade, with its vertical alignment and bronze coloured mirrored panels, which reflect the thick vegetation of the surroundings. The existing staircase was made of scaffolding, an element both stable and ephemeral, which can be assembled and dismantled countless times.

This structure itself therefore suggested a poetic concept of enduring time and transformation. For this very reason the staircase was preserved. However, it needed to exist in conjunction with the building to which it provides access, so that the entrance heralds the new museum: visitors should be greeted by an appropriately surprising element.

The playful dimension of this approach to design fits in with the cheery visual aspect of the Plasticarium collection on show to the public.

 

Press Activities
Place de Belgique - Belgiëplein - 1020 Brussels | T +32 2 669 49 29 | Every day from 10am to 6pm [closed tuesdays] | More info

ADAM - Art & Design Atomium Museum

M E N U
Le Trade Mart

Le Trade Mart

Un Emblème du Style International

Le ADAM s'étend sur 5.000m² spécialement réaménagés au sein du Trade Mart à Bruxelles [plateau du Heysel]. Cet édifice plutôt méconnu est l'oeuvre de l'architecte John Portman [né en 1924] et constitutait, à l'époqu [1975], l'un des plus vastes halls d'exposition au monde.

La structure est composée d'un système de dalles portantes dotées d'une résille de caissons et couplées à des colonnes espacées de 7,5m. Le tout s'articule sur une trame carrée pour former un ensemble omnidirectionnel très puissant. Cette « grille neutre » n'est évidemment pas sans rappeler l'œuvre des architectes radicaux des années '60.

Sa typologie et sa composition - tant en plan qu'en façade - en font surtout un exemple singulier de l'architecture dite de « style international » ou encore une version « corporate du brutalisme ».

 

Architecture & scénographie

Architecture & scénographie

Lhoas & Lhoas Architectes [Bruxelles]

Le projet architectural et scénographique a été conçu et réalisé par le bureau Lhoas & Lhoas Architectes qui s'est adjoint les compétences de Thierry Belenger (spécialiste du design du 20e siècle) et ainsi que de Alexandra Midal (historienne et théoricienne du design).

Le projet s'articule autour de 10 principes majeurs dont : tirer le meilleur parti des qualités du bâtit existant, tant à l'intérieur qu'à l'extérieur; un système d'exposition souple, adaptable; intégrer les réserves dans le parcours d'exposition; une muséographie qui met en avant les liens conceptuels, sociaux, voire philosophiques entre les objets; un emploi de matériaux standards et simples qui contrastent avec ceux de la collection.

Le mobilier intérieur et les éclairages sont respectivement fournis par VITRA et DELTA LIGHT.  

L'escalier d'accès principal

L'escalier d'accès principal

Une intervention de Jean Nouvel et MDW Architecture

La façade du Trade Mart est intéressante dans la mesure où elle présente un alignement vertical fait de panneaux miroirs couleur bronze qui reflètent la végétation dense des alentours.

L’escalier pré-existant était réalisé en échafaudage, élément à la fois stable et éphémère, montable et  démontable à l’infini. Cette structure évoquait déjà à elle seule toute une poétique de la durée et de la transformation. C’est pourquoi cet escalier a été conservé. Il lui fallait cependant exister par rapport au bâti auquel il donne l’accès et signifier le nouveau Musée par son entrée : le visiteur se doit d’être accueilli par un ouvrage surprenant.

C'est la raison pour laquelle a été crée un axe de symétrie orthogonale imaginaire au dessus du palier du haut. Cet axe a servi à la construction d'un escalier identique et symétrique à l'existant mais inversé, tel un auvent.  La dimension ludique du traitement graphique est à l’aune de la gaité qui se dégage de la collection Plasticarium présentée au public.

 

Activités Presse